Real woman ~ Krittika Sharma

Standard
“Music is well said to be the speech of angels; in fact, nothing among the utterances allowed to man is felt to be so divine. It brings us near to the infinite.”                                           Thomas Carlyle
Music has been a constant companion for me since past 8 years. No, I don’t sing nor do I play any instruments, but I like listening to all genres 16 hours a day. So when I came across Krittika it was an utter delight. Krittika is a fabulous songstress by passion and a textile designer by profession. She spent most part of her childhood in Bangalore and did her schooling from Rishi Valley. Krittika completed a 5 year course in a leading School of Art, Design and Technology at Bangalore and has a specialization in textile design. She is an upcoming singer whose solo album will be out in few months.
So lets meet Krittika Sharma in our series of ” Real women , street style “.
Name: Krittika Sharma
 
Age: 27
 
Profession: Textile Designer, Consultant and Musician
 
Summary of Professional Experience:
2003-2007: Srishti School of Art Design
 When I spoke to her, I felt she was one of those sorted heads who really knew what they wanted to do. Srishti institute at that time had a brilliant curriculum system where you could opt for the subjects of your own interest. Krittika was always fascinated with colors and weaves , hence textile was her major subject along with Graphic designing .
2007: Diploma Project for college with Abraham & Thakore
This was a 4 month-long project where she learnt a lot from the eminent designers
2008-09: Textile Head for Designer Boutique Iksenya in Bangalore
After completion of her studies ,she headed the textile division of a renowned boutique Ikensya. She had designed almost 600 of its kind unique woven sarees in this stint.
 2009-now: Pursuing Music Career and Creating a Textile brand
In 2009 she decided to shift to Mumbai to give a chance to her singing career. Krittika is trained in vocal Hindustani music. She has been singing since she was 4 years old. She has also performed an acoustic set of covers of Dusty Springfield, Norah Jones, Joss Stone, Natalie Mechant, Fleetwood Mac and Shelby Lynne. She writes her own lyrics and is presently collaborating with some of Mumbai’s top musicians, working towards her maiden album. Meanwhile she did Jingles, Voice Overs and Live shows at Blue Frog, Indigo, Bonobo and more . So all you people in Mumbai , if you have been to these places at the right time , you must have heard this songstress with smoky voice. I am totally in love with her voice.
 
 
How would you define your personal style as:
 I had hard time identifying whether she is the same girl or are they pictures of different people. She is extremely versatile in her styling. She says ,
” I go with the flow. I feel like I have many avataars. When I sing, I like being in long dresses and skirts. When I am at textile/ craft related events, I enjoy wearing my artisans’ saris and Rajasthani lehengas. I don’t necessarily fit a certain ‘look’. I admire and love wearing an amalgamation of Indian and Western sensibilities. A designer friend of mine recently designed two dresses for me made out of my Choti Nani’s old saris we retained. It’s one of my favourite pieces in my wardrobe because it tells a story. I love scouting for old jewelry. I enjoy experimenting with my hair. I tend to move towards clean lines.”
I loved the rock chic look in the above pictures. Her hair styling adds up to her look. The long detailed earrings and nose pin can’t be missed. Perfect for her musician’s look I say.
Style tip for rock chic girls : A black leather jacket , studded black vests , black pants in denims/leather/ glitter are the must have’s. Team them with either tight pony tail or leave them crunched and loose. Add up tons of liner and mascara . Nose pin is the added mystery element.
The white casual dress is a must-have in any fashionable girl’s wardrobe. Team it with colored beads and chunky silver jewellery for the bohemian look. Alternatively style it with a  striped scarf and a belt for a chic look. Throw on a bubble gum pink jacket for the flirty feel or match it with a bandhni print bolero for a traditional touch.
This is my favorite look. The hand-woven saree of her own brand Krittika Sharma looks just WOW.Teamed with bangles and ethnic neckpiece , it created an absolute stellar look.
Style tip ~ For those of you who still feel that zardosi and bling work can only be valuable, please have a look at this hand-woven fabrics. The feel of it is so rich and awesome. Any person who is in textile or appreciates art would know how sexy do these sarees look . 
Any work/achievement/hobby/passion you would like to share with us ?
 
Working with Abraham and Thakore is something I will be grateful for life. Mr. Thakore was an incredible mentor and really taught me the finer details of design. They are wonderful people and I admire how they incorporate Indian craft into their brand.
 Finding a way for my music and textiles to co-exist. It’s a constant see-saw but I cannot do without either of them!
Having the honour of Sridevi wearing a select collection of my saris in her comeback film, English Vinglish. It makes my team of artisans and I very proud!”
Passions in Life: Music, Reading, Cooking, Traveling and exploring craft, Writing
( If you have read earlier blogs , then you might identify , usually all women I feature have common passions like music, travelling , writing and art/crafts )
All of you music buffs can check her work here and drop in her a message if you like it.
You can also check up her work here  http://www.krittikasharma.in/
Talent never fails to impress me. Krittika is one of the few women whom God blessed with abundant talent and the wisdom to use it. I wish her good luck for her Debut album to be released soon.
I hope you guys enjoyed reading this post and knowing this talented young woman as much as I loved penning it down. Do share the post 🙂
Till the next post people, don’t forget to keep it stylish each day. You never know who’s falling for u 🙂
Leave a Reply

